Return to Headlines

Time for Listening and Learning

Dear Grant Community High School Families,

These last three months have been challenging on so many fronts.  The COVID-19 pandemic changed the course of education this spring, threatened the health of many, and negatively impacted millions economically.  Now we find ourselves challenged yet again by a crisis of a very different sort.

Another tragic death of an unarmed black man has people around the world grieving.  It has taken quite a few days for our own families to make sense of our emotions, as we face and try to better understand long-standing injustices, the pain they cause, and how we can take peaceful action to make our country a better and more just place for all of our citizens.  

At such a difficult time, we believe education is more important now than it ever has been before.  As an institution, we seek to “Build a positive school culture that strives for excellence, values diversity, and celebrates success for all.”  In order to accomplish that, we must continue listening to and learning from one another. We must continue teaching the young people of our community the importance of equity, inclusion, and what is right and just.  They must be encouraged to speak up against what we know is wrong.  Our students and the greater community deserve nothing less and, frankly, our students demand it.  They are a beacon of hope for peace, equal justice for all, and a better tomorrow. 

Given the confluence of these catastrophic events, it is understandable that our students may need some additional emotional support at this time.  Even though school is not in session, we are still only a phone call or email away.  Please reach out to us if you need anything that our District can provide.  Additionally, here are links to a few resources from the National Association of School Psychologists that you and your family may find helpful during these difficult times:

Sincerely,

The Grant Community High School Administration

Dr. Christy Sefcik, Superintendent (csefcik@grantbulldogs.org)

Beth Reich, Chief School Business Official (breich@grantbulldogs.org)

Jeremy Schmidt, Principal (jschmidt@grantbulldogs.org)

Ryan Geist, Assistant Principal (rgeist@grantbulldogs.org)

Dr. Nathan Miller, Assistant Principal (nmiller@grantbulldogs.org)

Greg Urbaniak, Dir. of Curriculum, Instruction and Assessment (gurbaniak@grantbulldogs.org)

Tina Sonders, Director of Special Education (tsonders@grantbulldogs.org)

Veronica Lukemeyer, Divisional (vlukemeyer@grantbulldogs.org)

Blair Schoell, Divisional (bschoell@grantbulldogs.org)

Eric Taubery, Divisional (etaubery@grantbulldogs.org)

Tom Ross, Athletic Director (tross@grantbulldogs.org)

 


 

Estimadas familias de la Escuela Secundaria Grant Community:

Estos últimos tres meses han sido desafiantes en muchos aspectos. La pandemia de COVID-19 cambió el curso de la educación esta primavera, amenazó la salud de muchos e impactó negativamente a millones económicamente. Ahora nos encontramos nuevamente desafiados por una crisis de un tipo muy diferente.

Otra muerte trágica de un hombre negro desarmado tiene a gente de todo el mundo en duelo. En nuestras propias familias nos ha llevado varios días dar sentido a nuestras emociones, ya que enfrentamos y tratamos de comprender mejor injusticias de larga data, el dolor que causan y cómo podemos tomar medidas pacíficas para que nuestro país sea un lugar mejor y más justo para todos los ciudadanos.  

En un momento tan difícil, creemos que la educación es ahora más importante que nunca. Como institución, buscamos "Construir una cultura escolar positiva que luche por la excelencia, valore la diversidad y celebre el éxito para todos". Para lograr esto, debemos continuar escuchando y aprendiendo unos de otros. Debemos continuar enseñando a los jóvenes de nuestra comunidad la importancia de la equidad, la inclusión y lo que es correcto y justo. Debemos alentarlos a hablar en contra de lo que sabemos que está mal. Nuestros estudiantes y la comunidad en general no merecen menos y, francamente, nuestros estudiantes lo exigen. Son un faro de esperanza para la paz, la justicia igual para todos y un mañana mejor. 

Dada la confluencia de estos eventos catastróficos, es comprensible que nuestros estudiantes puedan necesitar algún apoyo emocional adicional en este momento. Aunque la escuela no está en sesión, seguimos a solo una llamada telefónica o un correo electrónico de distancia. Comuníquense con nosotros si necesitan algo que pueda proporcionar nuestro Distrito. Además, aquí hay enlaces a algunos recursos de la Asociación Nacional de Psicólogos Escolares que ustedes y sus familias pueden encontrar útiles durante estos tiempos difíciles:

  • Apoyo a estudiantes vulnerables en tiempos estresantes: Consejos para los padres
  • Hablar con los niños sobre la violencia: Consejos para padres y maestros
  • Comprender la raza y el privilegio

Atentamente,

La Administración de la Escuela Secundaria Grant Community

Dra. Christy Sefcik, Superintendenta (csefcik@grantbulldogs.org )

Beth Reich, Directora de Negocios de la Escuela (breich@grantbulldogs.org )

Jeremy Schmidt, Director (jschmidt@grantbulldogs.org )

Ryan Geist, Subdirector (rgeist@grantbulldogs.org )

Dr. Nathan Miller, Subdirector (nmiller@grantbulldogs.org )

Greg Urbaniak, Dir. de Currículo, Instrucción y Evaluación (gurbaniak@grantbulldogs.org )

Tina Sonders, Directora de Educación Especial (tsonders@grantbulldogs.org )

Veronica Lukemeyer, Encargada de División (vlukemeyer@grantbulldogs.org)

Blair Schoell, Encargado de División (bschoell@grantbulldogs.org)

Eric Taubery, Encargado de División (etaubery@grantbulldogs.org)

Tom Ross, Director de Atletismo (tross@grantbulldogs.org)