Foreign Language Department

  • The ability to understand and communicate with people of other countries is a valuable asset. Advancing technology and the need to communicate with others has placed economic and social importance upon foreign languages. There are colleges that require foreign language credits as part of their admission criteria and many corporations routinely hire employees who have knowledge of a second language.

Courses

  • French I
    Prerequisite: None
    Grade level: 9, 10, 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    French II
    Prerequisite: French I
    Grade level: 9, 10, 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    French III
    Prerequisite: French II
    Grade level: 10, 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    French IV
    Prerequisite: French III
    Grade level: 11, 12. Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Honors French IV
    Prerequisite: French III and department approval
    Grade level: 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Honors French V
    Prerequisite: French IV or Honors French IV and department approval
    Grade level: 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Spanish I
    Prerequisite: None
    Grade level: 9, 10, 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Spanish II
    Prerequisite: Spanish I
    Grade level: 9, 10, 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Honors Spanish II
    Prerequisite: Spanish I and department approval
    Grade level: 9,10, 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Spanish III
    Prerequisite: Spanish II
    Grade level: 10, 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Honors Spanish III
    Prerequisite: Honors Spanish 2
    Grade level: 10, 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Spanish IV
    Prerequisite: Spanish III or Honors Spanish III or teacher recommendation
    Grade level: 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Advanced Placement Spanish IV
    Prerequisite: Spanish III or Honors Spanish III or teacher recommendation
    Grade level: 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Honors Spanish V
    Prerequisite: Spanish IV or AP Spanish IV and department approval
    Grade level: 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

  • Area Administrator
    Blair Schoell

    bschoell@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3403

    Teacher Leader
    Chris Carlson

    ccarlson@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3716

  • Department Teachers
    Lauren Behm

    lbehm@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3707

    Ben Burnet

    bburnet@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3714

    Christiana Catarino

    ccatarino@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3718

    Maureen Harker

    mharker@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3457

    AJ Havenga

    ahavenga@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3737

    Amanda LeBrun

    alebrun@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3710

    Stephanie Lesperance

    slesperance@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3750

    Becky Wilds

    rwilds@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3792