English Department

  • The English Department promotes high expectations in its courses so that students will learn to express ideas in an organized manner, both orally and in writing. Students will gain appreciation for traditional and current literature and value a free exchange of ideas in a group situation for learning.


    It is the intent of this department to have all students follow the sequential order of courses beginning with designated levels of English 9 through English 12.

    The Bark 

Courses

  • English 9
    Prerequisite: None
    Grade level: 9 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Advanced English 9
    Prerequisite: None
    Grade level: 9 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Honors English 9
    Prerequisite: Department approval
    Grade level: 9 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    English 10
    Prerequisite: None
    Grade level: 10 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Advanced English 10
    Prerequisite: Department approval
    Grade level: 10 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Honors English 10
    Prerequisite: Department approval
    Grade level: 10 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    English 11
    Prerequisite: None
    Grade level: 11 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Advanced English 11
    Prerequisite: Department approval
    Grade level: 11 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Honors English 11
    Prerequisite: Department approval
    Grade level: 11 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Advanced Placement Language and Composition
    Prerequisite: Department approval
    Grade level: 11 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    English 12
    Prerequisite: None
    Grade level: 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Advanced English 12
    Prerequisite: Department approval
    Grade level: 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Honors English 12
    Prerequisite: Department approval
    Grade level: 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Advanced Placement Literature
    Prerequisite: Department approval
    Grade level: 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Reading Workshop
    Prerequisite: Department approval
    Grade level: 9, 10, 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Theatre I
    Prerequisite: None
    Grade level: 9, 10, 11, 12 Course length: one semester Course credit: .5

    Theatre II
    Prerequisite: Theatre I
    Grade Level: 10, 11, 12 Course length: one semester Course credit: .5

    Publications - Newspaper
    Prerequisite: Department approval
    Grade level: 9, 10, 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Publications - Yearbook
    Prerequisite: Department approval
    Grade level: 9, 10, 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Creative Writing
    Prerequisite: None
    Grade level: 11, 12 Course length: one semester Course credit: .5

    Mythology
    Prerequisite: None
    Grade level: 10, 11, 12 Course length: one semester Course credit: .5

    Mythology II
    Prerequisite: Mythology
    Grade level: 10, 11, 12 Course length: one semester Course credit: .5

     

  • Area Administrator
    Veronica Lukemeyer

    vlukemeyer@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3409

    Teacher Leader
    Bob Schmitt

    rschmitt@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3773
  • Department Teachers
    Angela Balanag

    abalanag@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3704

    Allison Barker

    abarker@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3795

    Josy Bosworth

    jbosworth@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3747

    Emmy Diana

    ediana@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3753

    Nicole Frett

    nfrett@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3456

    Ashley Gaura

    agaura@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3486

    Leonard Grodoski

    lgrodoski@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3703

    Paige Gruber

    pgruber@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3741

    Corey Hutcheson

    chutcheson@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3780

    Kristina Maestranzi

    kmaestranzi@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3726

    Matthew Mueller

    mmueller@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3764

    Garrett Olsen

    golsen@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3775

    Katherine Sagritalo

    ksagritalo@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3769

    Courtney Spreitzer

    cspreitzer@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3458

    Beth Suehr

    bsuehr@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3771

    Jonathan Swearengen

    jswearengen@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3494

    Andrea Weaver

    aweaver@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3118

    Greg Wodzien

    gwodzien@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3794