Health & Wellness

  • The physical education staff believes that active student participation is the foundation upon which our program is based. Physical education is committed to the development of physical fitness and life-long activity. This curriculum will provide opportunities for individuals to develop healthy lifestyles, enabling them to learn recreational activities that will enhance those lifestyles. Those students who feel they are eligible for a physical education waiver should see their counselor.

    The following courses are required for graduation: P. E. (7 semesters), Health (1 semester).

Courses

  • Physical Education 9
    Prerequisite: None
    Grade level: 9 Course length: one semester Course credit: .5

    Health
    Prerequisite: None
    Grade level: 9 Course length: one semester Course credit: .5

    Physical Education 10
    Prerequisite: None
    Grade level: 10 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Physical Education 11 & Physical Education 12
    Prerequisite: None
    Grade level: 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Integrated Physical Education
    Prerequisite: Students who need modification or adaptations for a special need
    Grade level: 9, 10, 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Advanced Health
    Prerequisite: “C” or better in previous two semesters of physical education
    Grade level: 11, 12 Course length: one semester Course credit: .5

    Advanced Strength and Conditioning
    Prerequisite: Department approval
    Grade level: 10, 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Aerobics
    Prerequisite: “C” or better in previous two semesters of physical education
    Grade level: 11, 12 Course length: one semesters Course credit: .5

    Individual and Team Sports
    Prerequisite: “B” or better in previous two semesters of physical education
    Grade level: 11, 12 Course length: one semesters Course credit: .5

    Personal Fitness and Nutrition
    Prerequisite: “C” or better in the previous two semesters of physical education or department approval
    Grade level: 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Spin
    Prerequisite: “C” or better in previous two semesters of physical education
    Grade level: 11, 12 Course length: one semesters Course credit: .5

    Driver’s Education Classroom
    Prerequisite: Must pass eight courses the previous two semesters
    Grade level: 10, 11, 12 Course length: nine weeks Course credit: 0

    Driver’s Education Behind the Wheel
    Prerequisite: Pass the classroom portion and a valid learner’s permit.
    Grade level: 10, 11, 12 Course length: nine weeks Course credit: 0

  • Area Administrator
    Blair Schoell

    bschoell@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3403

    Teacher Leader
    Dave Behm

    dbehm@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3706

  • Department Teachers
    Amanda Bilbrey

    abilbrey@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3709

    Wayne Bosworth

    wbosworth@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3712

    Stacy Collins

    scollins@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3762

    Jim Cramer

    jcramer@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3719

    Jessica Dart

    jdart@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3720

    Dan Dunlavy

    ddunlavy@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3724

    Michele Keenan

    mkeenan@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3785

    Stacey Mays

    smays@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3754

    Karen Middleton

    kmiddleton@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3721

    Timothy Norwood

    tnorwood@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3740

    Michael Schneider

    mschneider@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3787

    Carl Uphoff

    cuphoff@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3786