Science Department

  • The Science Department believes that students should be scientifically literate as they prepare to enter college or the workplace. The department also believes that students should have theability to reason scientifically as it provides a conceptual framework for understanding natural phenomena and their cause and effects.

     

Courses

  • Earth Science
    Prerequisite: None
    Grade level: 10, 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Honors Earth Science
    Prerequisite: Department approval
    Grade level: 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Biology
    Prerequisite: Department Approval
    Grade level: 9, 10, 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Advanced Biology
    Prerequisite: None
    Grade level: 9, 10, 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Honors Biology
    Prerequisite: Department approval
    Grade level: 9, 10, 11 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Chemistry
    Prerequisite: Biology, Honors Biology, Earth Science, Honors Earth Science and Algebra
    Grade level: 10, 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Honors Chemistry
    Prerequisite: Biology or Earth Science, Algebra and department approval
    Grade level: 10, 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Astronomy
    Prerequisite: Algebra and Geometry
    Grade level: 11, 12 Course length: one semester Course credit: .5

    Environmental Science
    Prerequisite: 2 years of a lab science
    Grade level: 11, 12 Course length: one semester Course credit: .5

    Physics
    Prerequisite: Biology or Earth Science, Algebra and Geometry
    (Algebra II is recommended)
    Grade level: 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Honors Physics
    Prerequisite: Biology, Honors Biology, Earth Science or Honors Earth Science, Algebra,
    Geometry, and department approval - (Algebra II is recommended)
    Grade level: 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Honors Human Anatomy & Physiology
    Prerequisite: Biology and department approval (Chemistry is recommended)
    Grade level: 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Advanced Placement Biology
    Prerequisite: Biology, Chemistry and department approval
    Grade level: 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Advanced Placement Chemistry
    Prerequisite: Biology, Chemistry and department approval
    Grade level: 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Advanced Placement Physics 1
    Prerequisite: Biology, Chemistry
    Grade level: 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

    Advanced Placement Environmental Science
    Prerequisite: Honors Chemistry, Algebra II
    Grade level: 11, 12 Course length: two semesters Course credit: 1

     

     

  • Area Administrator
    Eric Taubery

    etaubery@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3408

    Teacher Leader
    Lori Lev

    llev@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3748

  • Department Teachers
    Walter Alvarenga

    walveranga@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3701

    Michael Anderson

    manderson@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3700

    Dan Benes

    dbenes@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3708

    Rachel Bicknase

    rbicknase@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3751

    Patrice Calhoun

    pcalhoun@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3757

    Margaret Germann

    mgermann@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3400

    Kyle Kujala

    kkujala@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3749

    Peter Laubenstein

    plaubenstein@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3733

    Meghan McKinney

    mmckinney@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3735

    Beth Miller

    bmiller@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3756

    Gayle Richards

    grichards@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3765

    Shane Rivette

    srivette@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3766

    Shea Wintersteen

    swintersteen@grantbulldogs.org
    (847) 973-3793